A name that is not my own

by Kimberly J Tilley

Have you ever had to fight for identity because someone else has your name?

It seems that I have never been the true owner of my name.  And names are important parts of who you are.

Thankfully, I am nothing like a horrible creature that has my name, that I had to endure during my childhood.

I often think about changing my name, I even have one picked out.  A few years ago, I took a Wiccan name test,  I like the generated name, but I am uncertain if it suits me. 

I wonder how it is in changing a name. Does it effect your personality, your identity in any way?

Do you know how many people share your name?  There are 771,555 people  just in the U.S. with the first name Kimberly. There are 10 Kimberly’s who share my maiden name, 46 Kimberly’s who share my married name. And two of these Kimberly’s, I am related to (1 not by choice).

There are only 3,062 people in the U.S. with the first name that I choose, and none with that full name.

Wouldn’t it be nice to be a single individual in a sea of billions?

