Playing with Filters

by Kimberly J Tilley

I have a few filters, but I rarely use them. I mostly just use my polarized filter.  I took out the diopter filter and sepia filter last Sunday and went shooting around the plants in the yard.  If you are not familiar with a diopter filter, it is like a magnifying glass you place on your lens, preferably the smallest lens you have, so you can create macro images.  If you do not have hundreds of dollars to put towards a good macro lens, a diopter is a good affordable option. But let it be known that the images are not as great as what you can make from a macro lens.  I also tried out the sepia filter in the NIK software program. I love it! I think I want to go through some old photos and renew them with the sepia filter. But I probably wont, I don’t think I could find the time. But I will definitely make use of this option on some of my future photographs.

Here are a few of the photographs I took with the +10 diopter filter on my 50mm lens.

 

Photographs with a sepia filter on my 300mm camera lens.

No the filter does not give 100% sepia coloring to the digital photographs.  It does add yellowing to the image, which can be used in creative ways. I created a second version of this apple tree picture and the blueberry branch when I  converted the image files to sepia in NIK, and they are amazing!

And now for some fun with the sepia filter in NIK software, courtesy of Photoshop.

I really like this last apple blossom photograph. I did save some of the color, so it is not full sepia, but still does convey a nostalgia feeling.  I was happy to find the walking-stick bug again. I enjoyed photographing it climbing on this branch. I don’t think s/he liked it as much though. I think it would have been happier left alone.

